About the Journal

Neurocritical Care is a peer-reviewed scientific publication whose major goal is to disseminate new knowledge on all aspects of acute neurological care. It is directed towards neurosurgeons, neuro-intensivists, neurologists, anesthesiologists, emergency physicians and critical care nurses treating patients with urgent neurologic disorders.

Neurocritical Care Vision and Mission

Vision: As the official journal of the Neurocritical Care Society, Neurocritical Care will be the primary source for high-quality scientific investigation, critical analysis and informed discussion of issues addressing the care of the patients we serve.

Mission: To serve its readership, authors and the NCS, Neurocritical Care will:

  • Be the flagship publication of the NCS
  • Be the international forum for the exchange of ideas, information and strategies that address the major challenges facing the field as it strives to carry out its missions
  • Educate readers on how to interpret literature



Michael N. Diringer, MD
Department of Neurology
Washington University School of Medicine

Associate Editors

Michael L. James, MD
Department of Anesthesiology & Neurology
Duke University Medical Center

Soojin Park, MD, FAHA, FNCS
Department of Neurology
Columbia University Irving Medical Center/NY Presbyterian Hospital

Chiara Robba, MD, PhD
Anesthesia and Intensive Care, Policlinico San Martino
IRCCS for Oncology and Neuroscience, Genova, Italy

Robert Stevens, MD
Department of Neurology
Johns Hopkins University

Wendy Ziai, MD
Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine
Johns Hopkins University

Assistant Editors

Michael J. Bell, MD
Children’s National Hospital
George Washington University School of Medicine

Alejandro A. Rabinstein, MD
Department of Neurology
Mayo Clinic - Rochester

Ofer Sadan, MD, PhD
Department of Neurology & Neurosurgery
Emory University

Social Media Editor

Aarti Sarwal MD, FNCS, FAAN
Department of Neurology
Wake Forest School of Medicine

Founding Editor

Eelco F. Wijdicks, MD, PhD
Department of Neurology
Mayo Clinic - Rochester

Neurocritical Care Editorial Board

Yasser Abulhasan, MBChB, FRCPC, FNCS
Kuwait University

Sergio Aguilera Rodríguez, MD, PhD
Valparaiso University - Chile

Venkatesh Aiyagari, MD
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center 

Paul Akins, MD, PhD
Kaiser Permanete

Brian Appavu, MD
Phoenix Children's Hospital

Marcel Aries, MD, PhD
Maastricht Universitair Medisch Centrum+

Niraj Arora, MD
University of Missouri - Columbia

Raffaele Aspide, MD
Istituto delle Scienze Neurologiche

Yekaterina Axlerod, MD
Sacramento Kaiser Comprehensive Stroke Center

Federico Bilotta, MD, PhD
Policlinico Umberto I, University of Rome "La Sapienza"

Robert Boots, MD, PhD, FRACP, FCICM
University of Queensland

Sherri A. Braksick, MD
Mayo Clinic - Minnesota

Joseph Burns, MD
Lahey Hospital and Medical Center Burlington

Katharina M. Busl, MD, MS, FNCS, FAAN
McKnight Brain Institute, University of Florida, USA

David Chung, MD, PhD
Harvard Medical School

Jan Claassen, MD
Columbia University Medical Center

University of Kentucky

Marek Czosnyka, PhD
University of Cambridge

Bart Depreitere, MD, PhD
University Hospitals Leuven

Rajat Dhar, MD, FRCPC
Washington University School of Medicine

Ari Ercole, MD, PhD
University of Cambridge

Anthony Figaji, MBChB, MMED, FCS (Neurosurgery), PhD
University of Cape Town

William D. Freeman, MD
Mayo Clinic - Minnesota

Emily Gilmore, MD, FNCS, FACNS
Yale School of Medicine

Pravin George, MD
Inova Medical Group

David Greer, MD
Boston University School of Medicine

Angela Hays Shapshak, MD
University of Alabama at Birmingham

Raimund Helbok, MD, PhD
Medical University of Innsbruck  

Claude J. Hemphill III, MD
University of California, San Francisco 

David Hwang, MD
Yale University School of Medicine

Natasha Ironside, MD
University of Virgina School of Medicine

Jennifer Kim, MD, PhD
Yale University

Matthew Kirschen, MD, PhD, FNCS
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Patrick Kochanek, MD, MCCM
University of Pittsburgh

William Kofke, MD, MBA
University of Pennsylvania 

R Loch Macdonald, MD, PhD
University of Toronto 

Carolina Maciel, MD, MSCR
University of Florida

Shraddha Mainali, MD
Virginia Commonwealth University

Donald Marion, MD
The Defense and Veterans Brain Injury Center

Renee Martin, PhD
Medical University of South Carolina

Molly McNett, PhD, RN, CNRN
MetroHealth System

Susanne Muehlschlegel, MD, MPH, FNCS, FCCM, FAAN
University of Massachusetts

Masao Nagayama, MD, PhD, FAAN
International University of Health and Welfare

Paul Nyquist, MD
Johns Hopkins Hospital  

Kristy O’Phelan, MD
University of Miami Hospital and Clinics

Peter Papadakos, MD
University of Rochester 

Jose Javier Provencio, MD
University of Virginia School of Medicine

Benjamin Rohaut, MD, PhD
Columbia University

Eric Rosenthal, MD
Massachussetts General Hospital

Lori Shutter, MD, FNCS, FCCM
University of Pittsburgh 

Markus Skrifvars, MD, PhD, EDIC, FCICM
University of Helsinki

Mathieu van der Jagt, MD, PhD
Erasmus Medical Center

Panayiotis Varelas, MD
Albany Medical Center

Paul Vespa, MD
University of California, Los Angeles Medical Center 

Sarah Wahlster, MD
University of Washington

Katja Wartenberg, MD

Craig Williamson, MD
University of Michigan

Katja Wartenberg, MD

Stefan Wolf, MD
Charite Berlin

Nika Zorko Garbajs
Mayo Clinic - Minnesota

Craig A Williamson, MD
University of Michigan

Stefan Wolf, MD
Charite Berlin

Yasser B. Abulhasan, MBChB, FRCPC, FNCS
Kuwait University

Frederick Zeiler, BSc, MD, FRCSC
University of Manitoba

Social Media Ambassadors

Eric C. Lawson, MD
Emory University School of Medicine

Diane McLaughlin, DNP, AGACNP-BC
University of Florida Jacksonville

Luis Rafael Moscote-Salazar. MD
Critical Care Unit, Centro Policlínico  del Olaya, Bogota, Colombia
Latínamerican Council of Neurointensive Care (CLaNi)

Ivan David Lozada-Martinez
Latínamerican Council of Neurointensive Care (CLaNi)

Felipe Ferreira, MD
Neurological ICU, Hospital Geral Roberto Santos, Bahia, Brazil

Vasisht Srinivasan, MD
University of Washington School of Medicine

Marc-Alain Babi MD
University of Florida

Visual Abstract Editors

Roberta T. Tallarico, MD
ICU consultant, Hospital Brasilia, Brasilia, Brazil

Alyssa Seldes, PA-C
University of Florida

Adam Webb, PharmD, BCCCP
Massachusetts General Hospital