Schedule

NCS_514537-20_VirtualAM_Web_Graphics_Update_1140x288_r1

Schedule

Please see below to reference the schedule for the NCS Virtual 18th Annual Meeting, which took place September 22-25, 2020. Attendees can access session recordings until November 30, 2020.

Complete your session evaluations to earn your continuing education credits for your attendance at the Virtual 18th Annual Meeting. Have questions? Read a comprehensive FAQ document here.

Wednesday, September 16 - Friday, September 18

The week before the Virtual Annual Meeting, NCS offered Specialty Focus Corners. These virtual networking sessions were designed to bring together various groups to network and discuss common areas of interest. You can view the full list of Specialty Focus Corners here.

Monday, September 21

5:00 p.m. – 6:15 p.m. PDT
7:00 p.m. – 8:15 p.m CDT
8:00 p.m. – 9:15 p.m EDT 
150.png Women in Neurocritical Care (WINCC) Family Night

Tuesday, September 22

7:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. PDT
9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m CDT
10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m EDT
150.png Morning Workshops*
  • Advanced Practice Providers
  • Critical Care EEG
  • Mechanical Ventilation Boot Camp: A Virtual Introductory Course
11:00 a.m. – 11:50 a.m. PDT
1:00 p.m. – 1:50 p.m CDT
2:00 p.m. – 2:50 p.m EDT
150.png Industry Symposia Presentation and Virtual Exhibit Hours
12:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. PDT
2:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m CDT
3:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m EDT
150.png Afternoon Workshops*
  • Building a Quality Improvement Program in the NICU
  • Neurocritical Care Pharmacotherapy
5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. PDT
7:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m CDT
8:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m EDT 
150.png Women in Neurocritical Care (WINCC) Reception
Sponsored by: IRRAS

Wednesday, September 23

7:30 a.m. – 8:30 a.m. PDT
9:30 a.m. – 10:30 a.m CDT
10:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m EDT
150.png Society Update and Awards Ceremony
8:45 a.m. – 10:15 a.m. PDT
10:45 a.m. – 12:15 p.m CDT
11:45 a.m. – 1:15 p.m EDT
150.png Clinical Trials – General Session
  • The CATCH Trial: Study Result, Michael James, MD
  • The SETPOINT 2 Trial: Lessons Learned, David Seder, MD
  • The GCS NeuroCOVID: Design and Rationale, Sherry Chou, MD
  • The ESICM/NCS Consensus Conference on Mechanical Ventilation in Acute Brain Injury, Robert Stevens, MD, Chiara Robba, PhD
10:15 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. PDT
12:15 p.m. – 1:00 p.m CDT
1:15 p.m. – 2:00 p.m EDT
150.png Virtual Exhibit Hall
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. PDT
1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m CDT
2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m EDT
150.png Concurrent Session 1
TegTalk: Utilizing Thromboelastography in Neurocritical Care
  • Thromboelastography use in traumatic brain injury and stroke, Jordan Bonomo, MD
  • Thromboelastography in stroke, Brian Gilbert, PharmD
  • Thromboelastography in medication induced coagulopathy of critical illness, Megan Barra, PharmD, BCPS, BCCCP
Ultrasound: The Unexplored Frontier for Neurocritical Care
  • Transcranial Doppler – Multifaceted tool for evaluation, management and prognostication in acute brain injury, Kerri LaRovere, MD
  • Critical Care echocardiography in acute brain injury- my heart hurts too!!, Diane McLaughlin, DNP, AGACNP-BC, CCRN
  • Cerebrohemodynamic monitoring using ultrasound – new horizons for point of care evaluation, Chiara Robba, PhD
NCS Guidelines
  • The Art and Science of Guidelines, Herb Fried, MD, FNCS
  • Guideline Survey Project, Lori Kennedy Madden, PhD, RN, ACNP-BC, CCRN-K, CNRN
  • Q&A, John Lunde, DNP, AGACNP-BC, FCCM
12:00 p.m. – 12:50 p.m. PDT
2:00 p.m. – 2:50 p.m CDT
3:00 p.m. – 3:50 p.m EDT
150.png Industry Symposia Presentation and Virtual Exhibit Hall
12:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. PDT
2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. CDT
3:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. EDT
150.png Trainees Section Specialty Focus Corner
1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. PDT
3:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m CDT
4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m EDT
150.png Keynote Session: Miracles in Medicine – Believing in the Impossible Outcomes
Alison Delgado, MD
150.png
2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. PDT
4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m CDT
5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m EDT
150.png Virtual Exhibit Hall
3:15 p.m. – 4:45 p.m. PDT
5:15 p.m. – 6:45 p.m. CDT
6:15 p.m. – 7:45 p.m. EDT
150.png Concurrent Session 2
Road to Recovery: Beyond the ICU
  • The Big Think: Long Term Cognitive and Neuropsychiatric Outcomes after Neurological injury, Melissa Motta, MD
  • Pearls and Pitfalls of Nutrition in Neurological Injury, Keaton Smetana, PharmD, BCCCP
  • The Impact of Goals of Care Discussions on Providers, Janet Prvu Bettger, ScD, FAHA
  • Understanding Post-Intensive Care Syndrome in the Neurocritical Care Unit, Jamie LaBuzetta, MD, MSc, MPhil
Covert Consciousness in the ICU
  • Introduction to Disorders of Consciousness and Neuroimaging Methods of Assessing Disorders of Consciousness Acutely, Zachary Threlkeld, MD
  • Electrophysiology and Machine Learning in Diagnosis of Covert Consciousness, Jan Claassen, MD
  • Genomic and Proteomic Biomarkers of Recovery in Acute Brain Injury and Disorders of Consciousness, Sheila Alexander, PhD, RN, FCCM
  • Shared Decision-making in Patients with Disorders of Consciousness and Covert Consciousness, Susanne Muehlschlegel, MD, MPH, FCCM, FAAN, FNCS
Behind the Scenes: Neurocritical Care Journal Team
  • What Journals are Looking For, Michael Diringer, MD
  • How to Publish Using New Methods, Soojin Park, MD
  • How to Respond to Reviews, Wendy Ziai, MD, MPH
  • What You Should Know About Impact Factors, Robert Stevens, MD
  • Social Media Wagon: Strategies on Best Use of SoMe to Keep up with Scientific Literature, Aarti Sarwal, MD
Exosomes/Extracellular Vesicles in Neurocritical Care
  • Exosomes and miRNAs as Biomarkers in Traumatic Brain Injury, Danielle Sandsmark, MD, PhD
  • The Role of Extracellular Vesicles in Glioblastoma Multiforme. Leonora Balaj, PhD
  • Extracellular Vesicles in the Pathophysiology and Therapeutics of Cardiovascular Disease, Susmita Sahoo, PhD
  • Assessing Extracellular Vesicles in Traumatic Brain Injury via Flow Cytometry, Monisha Kumar, MD
5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. PDT
7:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m CDT
8:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m EDT
150.png Social Distance Soiree
Learn More

Thursday, September 24

5:00 a.m. – 5:45 a.m. PDT
7:00 a.m. – 7:45 a.m. CDT
8:00 a.m. – 8:45 a.m. EDT
150.png

HIIT The Day Running

Learn More

8:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. PDT
10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. CDT
11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. EDT
150.png Concurrent Session 3
Bedside, Team & the Family: Decreasing Panic at the Fam DisCo; Controversies in the Neurologic Assessment and Monitoring
  • The Neuropalliative Journey: Decision to Order Set, Lindsay Marchetti, MS, PA-C
  • Leading the Meeting: Preparing the Team and the Family for Difficult Conversations, Bill Lombardi, DNP, AGACNP-BC
  • What's the Password? Key Phrases and Unit-Specific Guidance for Before and After the Meeting, Lexy Richards, DNP, FNP-BC
Ethical Considerations in Neurocritical Care
  • Moral Distress in the NeuroICU, Dea Mahanes, DNP, RN, CCNS, FNCS
  • Crossing Ethical Pits in Neurocritical Care, Arianna Barnes, RN, BSN, CCRN, SCRN, PHN
  • This is Not the Life We Want for Our Child: An Overview of the Ethics of Declining and De-escalating Life-Sustaining Treatments in Neurocritical Care, Lauren Treat, MD
Curing Coma
  • The Curing Coma Campaign – 2020 Update and Session Introduction, Shraddha Mainali
  • The Curing Coma Campaign Coma Science Working Group: Diving Deep into the Science of Curing Coma, Robert Stevens, MD
  • Harnessing Circuits to Improve Recovery of Consciousness, Nicholas Schiff
  • The NCS 2120 Keynote Address: Looking Back on 100 Years of Curing Coma, Geoff Ling
  • Curing Coma Q&A, Neha Dangayach
  • Curing Coma Q&A, Keri S. Kim, PharmD, MS, CTS
9:45 a.m. – 10:45 a.m. PDT
11:45 a.m. – 12:45 p.m. CDT
12:45 p.m. – 1:45 p.m. EDT
150.png Poster Session 1
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. PDT
1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. CDT
2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. EDT
150.png Virtual Exhibit Hall
12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. PDT
2:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. CDT
3:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. EDT
150.png Concurrent Session 4
Traumatic Brain Injury: Contemporary Monitoring and Treatment
  • Multi-modality targets in TBI, Brandon Foreman, MD
  • Vasospasm in Traumatic Brain Injury, Vishank Shah, MD
  • Neurostimulants in Traumatic Brain Injury, Jessica Traeger, PharmD, BCCCP
  • Vascular complications in Penetrating TBI, Kimberly Meyer, PhD, APRN
  • Clinical Research Gaps in TBI treatment/BTF Guidelines, Lori Shutter, MD, FCCM, FNCS
ECMO in Neurocritical Care: The Next Level
  • ECPR and potential outcomes; the seismic shift has already occurred, George A. Lopez, MD, PhD, FCCM, FNCS
  • cvEEG and its role as an ECMO monitor, Sung-Min Cho, DO
  • Using ECMO in the neurologically injured patient (is there a role for VA vs VV?), Glenn Whitman, MD
  • Invasive neuromonitoring in ECMO patients: what does it offer?, Stephan Mayer, MD, FCCM, FNCS
Multidisciplinary Medical Management in Mechanical Thrombectomy
  • Blood pressure optimization before during and after Recanalization, Ozan Akca, MD, FCCM
  • General anesthesia Vs Conscious Sedation for Mechanical Thrombectomy, Abhijit Lele, MBBS, MD, MS, FNCS
  • Continuous Infusion Antiplatelet Agents and platelet function assays, Jeffrey Mucksavage, MSN, FNP, CNRN, ANVP, FNCS
  • Nursing Care from door to recanalization and Beyond, Fern Cudlip, PharmD, BCPS
1:45 p.m. – 3:15 p.m. PDT
3:45 p.m. – 5:15 p.m CDT
4:45 p.m. – 6:15 p.m EDT
150.png Concurrent Session 5
Prognostication in ICH: Important Concepts NOT in the ICH Score
  • Ischemia Considerations in Acute Intracerebral Hemorrhage, Santosh Murthy, MD, MPH
  • Cerebral Small Vessel Disease Markers in Intracerebral Hemorrhage – Can I Use These for Prognostication?, Jonathan Rosand, MD, MSc
  • End of Life Decision Making – Should all ICH be Treated Aggressively and For How Long?, Lourdes Carhuapoma, MS, ACNP-BC, CCRN
  • Optimal Management of ICH Patients with Comorbid Thromboembolic or Vaso-occlusive Diseases, Ashkan Shoamanesh, MD
  • Baseline ICH Severity and Clinical Intervention, Daniel Hanley, MD
High Speed, Low Drag Critical Care: The Bleeding Edge in the NeuroICU
  • Advanced Mechanical Ventilation in the NeuroICU – alveoli vs. neurons: troubleshooting your neuro-vent, Charles M Andrews, MD
  • CRRT/RRT – how to replace the nephrons without killing the neurons and what goes wrong with your neuro medications on RRT, Michael Souter, MB, ChB, FRCA, FNCS
  • Bleeding reversal in the neuroICU, from platelet inhibitors to DOACs, Salia Farrokh, PharmD, BCCCP
  • Hemoptysis in the NeuroICU – how to manage it and win: “Where’s my cryo-bronch?”, Vikram Dhawan, MD
  • Critical Care of the LVAD patient in the NeuroICU - death is not inherently obvious when there are neurologic complications with an LVAD, Rachel Garvin, MD
Big Data: Visualizing the Future
  • Precision Neurocritical Care, DaiWai Olson, PhD, RN, FNCS
  • Using Big Data for Multiparametric Prediction, Soojin Park, MD, FAHA, FNCS
  • Integrated Physiological Monitoring: Data Visualization, Victoria McCredie, MBChB, PhD
Existing Gaps in International Practice and Possible Solutions
  • Neurocritical Care in a COVID-19 Pandemic: Abu Dhabi’s experience, Jamil Dibu, MD
  • Establishing the Minimum Acceptable Neuromonitoring, Jorge Mejía, MD, MSc, FNCS
  • The Impact of Traumatic Brain Injury Management in the Gulf Region, Hosam Al-Jehani, MBBS, MSc, FRCSC
  • Development of Neurocritical Care in Singapore, Jiansheng Jensen Ng, MBBS, MMed, FAMS
  • Brain Death and Organ Donation: Ethical Considerations of TeleHealth, Amay Parikh, MD, MBA, MS
3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. PDT
5:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. CDT
6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. EDT
150.png Virtual Exhibit Hall
4:30 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. PDT
6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. CDT
7:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. EDT
150.png Concurrent Session 6
Neuroinfectious Disease and Neuroinflammation
  • Encephalitis NOS: Appropriate Initial Work-up and Empiric Treatment, Michael Armahizer, PharmD, BCCCP
  • Step 1: Rule out Infection! Review of Common, Emerging, and Notable Causes of Infectious Encephalitis, Karen Bloch, MD, MPH
  • Step 2: It’s not infection! Approach to Presumed Immune-Mediated Encephalitis, Michael Bradshaw, MD
Platform Presentations
  • Hypoperfusion Intensity Ratio Predicts Malignant Edema and Functional Outcome in Large-Vessel Occlusive Stroke with Poor Revascularization, Nick Murray, MD
  • Cerebral Blood Flow Dynamics after Severe TBI, Brandon Foreman
  • Association of Outcomes with Cerebral Autoregulation After Pediatric Traumatic Brain Injury, Brian Appavu, MD
  • Data Systems and Common Data Elements for Collaborative Neurocritical Care Research, Eric Rosenthal, MD
  • Does Dual CSF Drainge after Aneurysmal Subarachnoid Hemorrhage Reduce Ventriculoperitoneal Shunt Dependency: A Case-Control Study, Belinda Bradley, APRN
  • Adequacy of Vancomycin Dosing in Neurocritical Care Patients: Impact of Augmented Renal Clearance, Arianna Vidger, PharmD
Brain Stress in and After the ICU
  • Sedation—trading behavioral distress for cellular distress?, Alia O'Meara, MD
  • Cerebral oxygen metabolism and hemodynamic reserve development influences ischemic vulnerability, Kristin Guilliams, MD, MSCI
  • Sleep disturbances impact recovery from critical illness, Cydni Williams, MD
Debates
  • Intensivists belong in the ICU, not the clinic, Carla M. Sevin, MD
    Post-ICU Clinics Should Be Staffed by ICU Clinicians, Aimee Aysenne, MD, MPH
  • I don’t need to measure ammonia levels in my liver patients, Prem Kandiah, MD
  • Ammonia is the predominant neurological insult in liver failure and should be the focus of diagnosis and treatment, Gabe Fontaine, PharmD, MBA, BCPS
  • Thromboelastography (TEG) and thromboelastometry (ROTEM) to monitor haemostatic treatment in adults or children with bleeding, Rachel Hausladen, CRNP, ACNP-BC, MSN
  • TEG is Useless!, Chethan Rao, MD, FNCS
5:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. PDT
7:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. CDT
8:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. EDT
150.png

Quarantine Funky Fest

Learn More

Friday, September 25

5:00 a.m. – 5:45 a.m. PDT
7:00 a.m. – 7:45 a.m. CDT
8:00 a.m. – 8:45 a.m. EDT
150.png

Yoga with Sasha

Learn More

8:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. PDT
10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. CDT
11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. EDT
150.png Concurrent Session 7
Multi-modality Monitoring in Neurocritical Care
  • Invasive intracranial monitoring, Venkatakrishna Rajajee, MBBS
  • Non-invasive intracranial monitoring, Emmaculate Fields, NP
  • Systemic monitoring, Shivani Ghoshal, MD
Controversies in Brain Death Determination
  • Global and cultural perspectives on brain death – forging a global concept of brain death with a new statement from NCS, Gene Sung, MD, MPH
  • Case Studies of “Recovery” from Brain Death and Re-animation. Is brain death not death anymore?, Tom Nakagawa, MD, FAAP, FCCM
  • Pearls and Pitfalls in Brain Death Determination – adult, pediatric, pregnancy, Ariane Lewis, MD
  • Case based review for challenging clinical scenarios with panel/audience participation, David Greer, MD, MA, FNCS
  • Case based review for challenging clinical scenarios with panel/audience participation, Tiffany Chang, MD
  • Case based review for challenging clinical scenarios with panel/audience participation, Matthew Kirschen, MD, PhD
Global Health
  • Intersection of Neurocritical Care and Public Health: Stopping an epidemic at patient zero, Boby Varkey Maramattom, MD, DM, FRCP [Lon], FRCP [Edin]
  • Mapping neurological and neurosurgical resources across the world, Kiran Thakur, MD
  • Peshawar declaration on global neurotrauma (WFNS), Tariq Khan, MD
  • Role of neurocritical care in Global Neurotrauma, Halinder Mangat, MD, FNCS
  • Outcome of TBI patients in Latin America, Walter Videtta, MD, FNCS
What’s New in Pediatric Refractory Status Epilepticus
  • Using quantitative EEG to guide management of RSE, Eric Payne, MD, PhD
  • GABAergic and ion channel dysregulation in status epilepticus: emerging drug therapies, Jonathan Kurz, MD, MPH
  • Management of RSE in high risk populations in the pediatric ICU, Jennifer Erklauer, MD
9:45 a.m. – 10:45 a.m. PDT
11:45 a.m. – 12:45 p.m. CDT
12:45 p.m. – 1:45 p.m. EDT
150.png WINCC Session: Dare to Soar: Piloting Careers to Senior Leadership and the C-Suite
Chere Gregory, MD, MHS
11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. PDT
1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. CDT
2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. EDT
150.png Professionalism, Leadership & Research Mentoring Session
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. PDT
1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. CDT
2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. EDT
150.png Virtual Exhibit Hall
12:15 p.m. – 1:15 p.m. PDT
2:15 p.m. – 3:15 p.m. CDT
3:15 p.m. – 4:15 p.m. EDT
150.png Poster Session 2
1:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. PDT
3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. CDT
4:30 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. EDT
150.png Concurrent Session 8
When Saving 1 is Not Equivalent to Saving 2: Special Considerations in the Neurocritical Care of Pregnancy
  • Cardiac and neuro resuscitation in pregnant patients in the NeuroICU, Chitra Venkatasubramanian, MBBS, MD, MSc, FNCS
  • Cerebrovascular emergencies in pregnancy: Stroke is only part of the story, Marie Baldisseri, MD, MPH, FCCM
  • Ethical issues unique to neurocritical care in pregnancy, Christa O'Hana Nobleza, MD, MSCI
Beyond Vasospasm and DCI - Improving Life after SAH
  • Patient-reported health outcomes after SAH - learning what matters, Shane English, MD
  • Life and Living after Subarachnoid Hemorrhage, Jamie LaBuzetta, MD, MSc, MPhil
Billing and Practice Management
  • Overview of billing and documentation of critical care time, Briana Witherspoon, DNP, APRN, ACNP
  • Maximizing billing with efficient documentation, Ryan Hakimi, DO, MS, FNCS, NVS
  • Presenting a proforma on the financial value of having a rounding clinical pharmacist, Eljim Tesoro, PharmD, BCCCP, FNCS
  • Staffing plans that maximize quality and satisfaction, Ivan Da Silva, MD, PhD, FNCS